Studies

Now that there are only two and a half weeks left I would say that it’s time to start reflecting on the nature of this experience – to assess what it was all about, what it was worth, and what it might be worth in the future. 

I’m in the library now. I just finished rehearsing for a presentation with some very focused young students. They’re so indulgent of the old man – they put up with my foibles without kicking up too much of a fuss.

Anyway, it occurs to me that I’m now coming to the end of an experience which began in May 2011 as an effort to re-rail and  re-establish purpose after being laid off from my job of 23 years. 

September of that year saw a large number of firsts – the first class, the first test, the first essay and so on – and now I’m experiencing some Newtonian, equal-and-opposite lasts. 

This morning, for example, I came here on the train for the last time. I waited in Mac Hall for the library to open – for the last time – and right now I’m sitting in a library workroom which I booked in my name for the last time. Frankly, I’m probably in this library for the last time right now, because the rest of my studies can be done at home and other than a final, romantic walkabout there would be no reason for me to come back here.

It makes you think: about the passage of time, the meaning of events. It makes you wonder what the point is of using all our personal forces to develop when we’d probably be a lot more comfortable if we just stagnated. I hope against hope that I have the energy to keep learning right up until my last day – there is no emotional profit in being satisfied. There’s no joy in quiesence. Learn and grow, that’s my motto. Learn something new every day, or waste your life on the passive entertainments.

Anyway, here’s my last view of the library. It’s Saturday, so it’s not too busy – but that’s not how I’ll remember it. 

There’s a thing about lasts. The optimism of beginning is gone, but it’s replaced now by the nervous anticipation of satisfaction and success. 

And I have to say, I like the sound of that.

10 thoughts on “Studies

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Life is great

  2. I agree with you whole-heartedly on the need to continue learning! Good for you for pursuing your studies and going back after a long career. Throughout my years, from being self-employed to stay-at-home-mom to photographer, I’ve earned my MBA, a certification in photography and completed a myriad of art projects from the multitude of classes I’ve taken πŸ™‚ Cheers to you and always learning!

    • Thanks very much. I agree. A day with nothing learned is a day wasted. Of course, it doesn’t always need to be formal learning. The next chapter will show what it’s been for. Hopefully I can put it all to good use.

      Thanks very much for stopping by.

      J

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Humbled Relections | Humbled Pie

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  5. Pingback: Daily post photo challenge: Reflection | The Wandering Poet

  6. Pingback: Phone Reflections | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Reflections (Pebbles on the Beach) | What's (in) the picture?

  8. Pingback: Eternity | B.Kaotic

Constructive thoughts please

