It’s 4am

I get an A-plus for decompressing.

It took me a couple of weeks to re-set my body clock so that I wasn’t waking up automatically at five-fifteen, but other than that I’ve been energetically busying myself with the functions of do-nothingness and that’s been just about as much as I could handle. Why, one day last week I got so darn busy doing this or that (or was it both?) that I actually almost forgot that I’m in school at all!

Yesterday, however, the thought suddenly came: “Only 22 more days before I go online to pick my courses.”

It was a shock.

Picking courses doesn’t just mean picking courses. It means getting the Prof’s contact info and trying to get a head-start on reading materials. It means kick-starting the self-discipline motors, willing my way out of the laissez-faire, and into the laissez-bloody-well-get-on-with-it that got me through semesters one and two. It means being disciplined and getting stuck in to the reading – you know, on the patio with a cool Mint Julep or such – to have at least a passing acquaintance with the new material before classes even begin. That’s right, it means at least a three-quarter-hearted attempt at being mature.

So here I am, at 4am, with sleep apparently passing me by and daylight already visible in the east, thinking that I should get up and do something useful.

Who needs rest anyway? Stress is far more productive, and it’s fun, too!

Constructive thoughts please

